Lin Wang, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Department of Computer Science
Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam

Phone: +31 20 59 159069
Address: De Boelelaan 1105, 1081HV Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Google Scholar    LinkedIn    Twitter


One paper on edge demand response got accepted to IEEE INFOCOM 2019.
Kamran Razavi will join my group as a Ph.D. student in this winter, welcome!
One paper on online resource allocation for edge computing got accepted to IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing (TMC).
One paper on cloudlet coverage analysis got accepted to ACM/IEEE Symposium on Edge Computing (SEC) 2018.


I am a tenure-track Assistant Professor in the computer systems section of the Computer Science department of Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam. I am also affiliated as an Athene Young Investigator at the Department of Computer Science at TU Darmstadt. During Jul 2016 - Nov 2018, I headed the Smart Urban Networks group at the Telecooperation Lab at TU Darmstadt. Before that, I was a Postdoctoral Research Associate at SnT Luxembourg. I obtained my Ph.D. in Computer Science with distinction from the University of Chinese Academy of Sciences (UCAS). During Sep 2012 - Jan 2014, I was a visiting researcher at IMDEA Networks Institute in Madrid. I am a member of IEEE and ACM.

“No problem is too small or too trivial if we can really do something about it.” – Richard P. Feynman

My research is focused on networked systems design and performance optimization for supporting emerging (mobile) appliations. Topics include edge computing, software-defined networking and network function virtualization, and energy-efficient algorithms.